For the love of pottery and crystalline glazing

So Much to do in so Little Time


With the set back of my kiln for so long, I am now in a crunch to get everything done in time for the show and then for another craft fair just a few weeks following that.  I have not been in the studio yet this morning, but I am sort of dreading it today.  Not because of the work load (which is why I MUST go in), but because it is pouring out!  I am sure the floor is somewhat flooded and it is going to be a cold day in there today.  I need to get a lot of glazing done today for the next firing.  Looks like I will be wearing rain boots at work today!

This tray came out of the last glaze firing.  Ahh, it is good to see crystals again, isn’t it?  The last load was nearly all glazed in the copper green.  I am not sick of it.  It is still one of my favorite glazes, but I like to have variety in the kiln.  That’s ok though, in the kiln load that is cooling right now there are only two pieces glazed in the copper green.  I have two sets of plates in there that I am anxious to see:  a set of four lunch plates glazed in cobalt crystalline and a set glazed in ivory crystalline.

The kiln load that is cooling right now is already my third load!  I am pumping them out as fast as I can.  I am still throwing in the meantime, but I am not sure how that will look today if the floor is flooded.  I don’t want the pedal to my wheel sitting in a puddle.  That cannot be good for it!

This is why I am so overwhelmed!  Everything here needs to be glazed and fired!  Of course I can condense things on the shelves because they can stack.  That cannot happen in the kiln.  Oh how I wish it could!  Ok, no more wishing, time to pull on the rain boots and get to work!

4 responses

  1. Michele Prince

    The Lord bless you today and make your day prosperous and FILLED with joy!! Love you!

    October 4, 2011 at 1:20 pm

  2. Andrew

    It is soooo good to see those crystals again!! 🙂 I agree- that green glaze is beautiful. I hope the garage doesn’t have too much water in it! :/ But hey- you look cute with rain boots 😀

    October 4, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  3. Brian Prince

    So glad to see you back “in business”. Your work is looking beautiful!

    October 4, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  4. you are amazing! I can’t wait to see all those dishes when they’re completed! Especially the Christmas ones!

    October 4, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Leave a comment